Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
SMELL THE LIGHTHOUSES #80444 01/02/00 07:59 PM
E
easy Offline OP
OP Offline
E
CAN A NEWBIE POST A TOPIC? Heres my attempt. Why do people buy HL's?
1. The casual buyer who simply wanted to buy a momento of their trip or of a memory of a vacation of the past?
2. The person who likes lighthouses, reads about them and visits them?
3. The person who has fallen off the edge and now has to have all the HL's (wacko)?
4. The person who grabs as many as they can including looking for bargains on EBay in order to make a profit?
5. A combination of the first 4? I suspect that most of us belong here.
If I am right(remember,I'm a Newbie), then why do some of us readers of the FORUM get upset when Younger & Assoc. increased their edition size? I know the answer. It devalued our collections (refer to #4). BUT, I can think of advantages to the bigger edition size too.
1. Newbies will find it less expensive to fill up their collections and thus become wackos.
2. Casual purchasers will find it easier to find a certain model and possibly become collectors and thus increase the funds to "save the lighthouses".
3. The bigger edition size should have been able to keep the costs down on the new HL's (bigger production size = lower costs per unit. That benefits all of us.

It seems to me, (remember, I'm only a newbie)that we collectors should relax and "smell the lighthouses". Most importantly, ENJOY them! Take a look at that little snowman on Quoddy and smile! See Ya! EASY

[This message has been edited by easy (edited 01-03-100).]

Re: SMELL THE LIGHTHOUSES #80445 01/03/00 02:32 AM
Art Offline
Quote:
CAN A NEWBIE POST A TOPIC?

Of course, easy! That's a great way to work toward earning the 'Wacko' label. Welcome, and thanks for starting this thread.

You bring up some good points. However, I think that the objection to the large edition size goes beyond the devaluation factor, although that probably plays some role too.