Print Thread
48 Lighthouses #61979 06/29/01 08:32 PM
L
lkeasyliving Offline OP
Wacko
OP Offline
Wacko
L
I'm not good at this so bear with me we saw 48 Lights I probely missed some here but you get the idea
Well Kathy & I made it back 13 days driving around Lake Erie & Ontario 48 lighthouses later
Left Friday the 15th from Holland went into Canada at Port Huron drove along the Lake St. Clair until we came to a town of Sombra stopped at a restaurant for dinner and asked our waitress if there was a motel or hotel around she said there’s a B&B next door the owners of the restaurant own the B&B so we stayed there for the night $65 Canadian. We had the whole house to ourselves it was a great start to our vacation. The B&B was half a block from the river so we walked down to it sat on the bank I was looking across the river and lo and behold there was a Lighthouse across the way it was Windmill Point.

Saturday morn on our way to Thames River Light, Port Burwell light we climbed that one.
Then Old Long Point, its private and redone looks good. On to Port Dover. Spent the night there at another B&B very nice.

Sunday on to Port Maitland Range Light, Mohawk Island Light, a ways out but could see it. Port colborn Inner & Outer Lights, Point Albino a little further out but could see with a good camera. Then Niagara River Range Light, Port Dalhomise Range. Spent the night in Hamilton.

Monday went to African Safari and Botanical Gardens it was great then stayed east of Hamilton right on Lake Ontario.

Tuesday, crossed over to U.S. Fort Niagara, Thirty Mile Point, Charlotte Genesee, Sodus Light & Outer climbed Sodus Light stayed at the B&B right next door our room had a view of the Light.

Wednesday, Oswego Light, Stormy Point and Selkirk where we stayed for two nights it was nice just relaxed and Mombo visited us had a nice visit.