Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Portland Head question (Oh God!. Another new guy!) #3178 10/08/02 12:23 AM
S
Sarge Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I'm pretty new to all this, so please take pitty on me for asking this question. I know that the original Portland Head (HL125) that came out in '92 was 7" tall and now goes for $500/$600. Then in '95 they put out HL404 that was 6" tall. And finally in '99 out comes HL404R at 5". (Bob M is kindly fixing me up with a 404.) Anyway, I was wondering what is the difference in appearance between the 3 pieces? Is size the only difference - and why does Harbour Lights keep reducing the size with each new offering?

Like I said, I'm new. Thanks for the help & the patience. :rolleyes:

Re: Portland Head question (Oh God!. Another new guy!) #3179 10/08/02 12:39 AM
Webmaster Offline
Saint
Saint
Here's a place to start. Pictures of all three versions.

http://www.harbourlights.com/catalog/1992/hl_portland_head.htm

GLOWs (the 400# series) are meant to be smaller than LEs (OK, gang, let's not turn this into another anti-GLOW thread.)

Smaller (shorter) the tower, the more detail they can put on the base.

Comparing a 1992 issue vs. a 1995 is like comparing a 65-1/2 Mustang to a 2002 one.

Re: Portland Head question (Oh God!. Another new guy!) #3180 10/08/02 01:39 PM
lhlover Offline
Well, I have to say I like GLOWs - I even have several of them in my collection. When I buy a Harbour Light I buy it for the looks (most of the time I only buy the Lighthouses I've actually been to or that I really want to visit). I don't buy a HL with the thought of - "If I buy this my husband will be able to sell it for lots of money when I die." I don't plan on selling my HL's, so resale value is not an issue. Plus I don't want to spend $500 on a HL - when I could use that $500 to visit three actual Lighthouses. At that price I would rather buy the cheaper, but just as nicely made, GLOW.