Print Thread
Cape Hatteras Move - What Did it Cost? #29058 10/18/00 03:54 PM
Webmaster Offline OP
Saint
OP Offline
Saint
From the Letters to National Geographic, September 2000

Quote:
Is it acceptable to spend more than one-third the operating budget of Yellowstone National Park to move a pile of bricks one-half mile, while some of America's ecoloogically fragile parks are vandalized and left in disrepair for lack of funding?

Linda Terrell, Albuquerque, NM

Quote:
As I approach retirement age, I am impressed that the unified jacking system used to push the lighthouse was designed by a 78-year-old. As an accountant, I could not help but notice it cost about $1.20 a pound to move the lighthouse

George A. Fiebelkorn, Jr., Falls Church, VA

Re: Cape Hatteras Move - What Did it Cost? #29059 10/18/00 04:40 PM
J
Joanne Offline
J
I find the first comment interesting in that it doesn't take into account the amount of tourist revenue the lighthouse move brought into the area or the amount it brings in every year.

As far as national parks, I find it unbelievable that they charge so little for a one week stay. I was at Bryce Canyon in Utah a few years back and it was $5.00 per car for a whole week. If they charged more money and applied that money towards the upkeep and security of the parks, I don't think anyone would mind.

And it's not a pile of bricks!

Joanne

Re: Cape Hatteras Move - What Did it Cost? #29060 10/18/00 05:21 PM
wheland Offline
Cruise Director
Cruise Director
I'm not sure of what the actual dollar amounts for the move and for tourist revenues, but I am not sure they matter.

It's always going to be a problem deciding how the meafer dollar allotted to national historic treasures are used. Some will believe none should be spent on old worthless things. They think he money should be spent on the living, not the dead.