Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
All About Yourself ! #20201 02/13/09 06:20 PM
flacoastie Offline OP
Saint
OP Offline
Saint
Based on Roland's suggestion about starting a topic telling our interests and a little bit about ourselves, I will start it off. I had prepared this history about myself for a past HLs newsletter so there is no sense in recreating the same subject.

I was born in Plainfield, NJ and moved to Pennsylvania when I was 5 years old. I grew up 15 miles outside of Erie, PA in the small town of Girard with a population of 1500 people. I lived less then 2 miles from Lake Erie so being close to water probably helped shape my life. We used to swim right in front of Presque Isle Lighthouse on Sunday afternoons but somehow lighthouses never were an interest to me then. I graduated high school in 1961 and a year later enlisted in the Navy.

I enlisted in the Navy in May of 1962 and went to Great Lakes, IL for boot camp. After boot camp I stayed at Great Lakes and attended a year of electronics training. After spending a winter at Great Lakes in the old WWII "H" style wooden barracks and waking up in the morning with sifting snow on my blanket(bed was next to a drafty window) I decided if I had a chance after school that I wanted to be stationed in the south.

I got my wish and received orders to NAS Jacksonville, FL in the spring of 1963. I met Amy in Jacksonville, got married in the fall of 1964, our son Scott was born there in June of 1966 and we stayed there until my enlistment was up in Nov of 1966(4 1/2 year enlistment thanks to a 6 month involuntary Viet Nam extension).