Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
A Newbie DUMB Question #191819 09/28/06 06:48 PM
BeaconBob Offline OP
Super Wacko
OP Offline
Super Wacko
Okay...so I've heard and seen what a "light ship" is and I also know what a "life boat" is...but I have never heard of a "lifesaving station".
Sorry...but I am still learning...(playing the newbie card for as long as I can! smile ).
Can someone explain exactly how to recognise a lifesaving station? I was thinking "hospitals" when I first heard this term...but now I'm confused. Is there a list of these that I can paroose and see if any are near me in NJ?

BB

Bob J ~ 65 Lighthouses, 2 Lightships, 25 Life Saving Stations Visited ~
"I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life."
John 8:12
Re: A Newbie DUMB Question #191820 09/28/06 07:15 PM
Bob Ott Offline
Cruise Director
Cruise Director
BB,

I'll wait for others much more knowledgeable than I am to answer your question.

But just to remind you, THERE ARE NO DUMB QUESTION.ONLY DUMB ASWERS.

bobo

Re: A Newbie DUMB Question #191821 09/28/06 07:18 PM
beachcomber Offline
Bob O is quite right. Try going to www.beachbum.homestead.com/Life-SavingStations. This is the website of our resident expert on life saving stations - Stephen Wilmoth. I have learned a whole lot by going through his website. It is very fascinating.

beachcomber
Re: A Newbie DUMB Question #191822 09/28/06 07:21 PM
beachcomber Offline
Apparently, it's just www.beachbum.homestead.com. When you go to the one I posted first, it redirects you to this link. It is very worthwhile taking the time to go through it; Stephen has done a great job!

beachcomber
Re: A Newbie DUMB Question #191823 09/28/06 07:29 PM
BeaconBob Offline OP
Super Wacko
OP Offline
Super Wacko
I'm impressed! What a very informative website!
I wasn't totally off-base but the story behind the stations is simply marvelous!

Thanks for the link!

BB