cf-banner.jpg
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Cape Cod #181521 05/20/02 11:39 PM
Handyman Offline OP
OP Offline
Hey Folks- This is my first attempt to post photos on the Board. I would really like to improve my photos, so any criticism on technique or composition is appreciated. These were taken last August with Fuji ISO200 (print film)on a Nikon N80 with circular polarizer. For some reason, some of the scans were not very sharp, but the photos are well focued in real life...

Chatham Light:

Nauset Light:

Many thanks for any comments! I noted in attempting to post these that the images would not transfer from webphotos (in UBB or HTML) but they worked fine from dotphoto. Anyone know why?

Thanks,
Chris

[This message has been edited by Hanifich (edited 05-21-2002).]

Re: Cape Cod #181522 05/21/02 12:51 AM
B
Bud Schrader Offline
Wacko
Wacko
B
Chris, the webphoto hasn't been working for us for quite a while. I use clubphoto, works very well. The images are very nice. I have real problems keeping my horizons level and the towers vertical. The editing program is a huge help to me, to rotate my images. One reason I like the N80 Nikon is the grid pattern you can display to help compose the shots. Have you any experience with that function? Great job on the photos!

Bud

Bud
Re: Cape Cod #181523 05/21/02 01:16 AM
Webmaster Offline
Saint
Saint
Nice pictures.

Since you asked for contructive criticism...

The picture of Chatham could have been improved by including more of the lawn in front of the tower and building. The building and tower seem to 'sit' on the bottom edge of the photo.

Including the flag pole is nice.

The colors on this photo are just right.

For the Nauset photos, you moved your feet around -- something our esteemed photographer Paul Brady recommends highly. *

But even so, you've demonstrated that getting the right angle isn't always easy.