cf-banner.jpg
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Protecting Photo Equipment #178246 05/10/02 03:21 AM
Handyman Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi Folks!

As is easily seen from many of the posts on this board, many great shots are obtained during the extremes of weather. How do your folks protect from rain, spray, etc while setting up and shooting? I'm quite a spectacle on the beach in nice weather because I generally carry my Nikon as far above the evil, camera ruining sand as my arms will reach. How do you manage these great shots when it looks like a tornado is brewing?

Re: Protecting Photo Equipment #178247 05/10/02 08:01 AM
Bob M Offline
Saint
Saint
I am not a professional photographer. The camera I take to the beach is a weather resistant camera. I usually placed it in a zip-lock bag, and then inside a waterproof beach bag. When I return from the beach, I usually wipe it off with a cloth dampened with fresh water then a dry cloth. I sometimes wipe it off with a silicone gun cloth too.

Bob

Re: Protecting Photo Equipment #178248 05/10/02 11:26 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
I'm not a professional photographer either, but, that said, all of my camera gear is insured for total loss replacement on a separate policy for professional use. I carry that insurance on the cameras and lenses largely because of some of the extreme weather conditions that I shoot in.