Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Mayo Clinic Info #119775 11/16/05 02:32 PM
kory63 Offline OP
Super Wacko
OP Offline
Super Wacko
I've been very lax on paying attention to or participating on the Forums since the Reunion due to a number of issues.
The biggest one is that my doctor is out of suggestions for dealing with a health issue I have and has suggested and has referred me to the Mayo Clinic. The issue seems to be related to the 2 back surgeries I endured in 2003 and is not considered life threatening.
I'm looking to the WACKO Nation for any information or experiences you or someone you know may have had at the Clinic.
I have found little on the internet and my doctor has not made a referral in several years.
I'm hoping there are folks out there who can provide some info on what to expect and how things might work when I get there. I've been told that I will be contacted by the Clinic at some point but right now I am just beginning the referral process and in a "waiting" mode. So any info would be appreciated. I know of it's great reputation, my doctor refers to it as a "center of excellence" but that's about all.
Again, any info that anyone might be able to provide would be greatly appreciated as well as your good thoughts and prayers for some positive answers to my problem.
Thanks,
Rick

Re: Mayo Clinic Info #119776 11/16/05 03:29 PM
Webmaster Offline
Saint
Saint
Hi Rick --

It's amazing what the people from the CF can do to help.

I'm in Scottsdale, AZ. My wife has worked for Mayo Clinic/Scottsdale for the past 5.5 years and during that time, I've been under their health plan. Excellent care, highly recommended.

You usually do NOT need a referral to make an appointment and get care at Mayo.

Obviously, the more information you and your present and past care-providers can give at your first Mayo appointment, the better - including X-rays, scans, lab test results, etc.