Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Sense of Place #20763 07/21/99 04:47 PM
K
Kevin Offline OP
OP Offline
K
One great satisfaction from collecting Harbour Lights is how they help engender a sense of place. I'm a geography professor, but my knowledge of America's coasts is much improved by the window opened by curiosity about Harbour Lights sculptures. For example, Gay Head has frequently been in the news lately with the JFK Jr. plane tragedy. Having not been to Martha's Vineyard, I would have no idea of the location or character of Gay Head if it weren't for Harbour Lights. This sense of place we get from our collections is just one of the intangible but rewarding facets of lighthouse collecting.

Re: Sense of Place #20764 07/21/99 06:23 PM
RRohweder Offline
A sad but valid point Kevin. I was afraid there would be a rush on Peggy's Cove after the Swiss Air plane crash and the lighthouse seemed to become the focal point of news coverage. The rush never materialized, but they all sell in their own good time.

The Kennedy plane crash is another sad event, but it does focus national attention on an area and provides onlookers with the sense of place that you refer to.

Rich

------------------

Re: Sense of Place #20765 07/22/99 12:42 AM
DeDo Offline
Hi Kevin,

I agree with your thoughts on Harbor lights increasing our sense of geography. We find ourselves relating places/areas to the harbour lights we have collected or read about. I do this especially with our boys reminding them that an area in the news is near or related to a lighthouse we have visited.