Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Do you have fuzzy Harbour Lights? #12901 09/11/99 02:55 AM
B
Bob Steinbrunn Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Now here's an odd one. Being a model ship builder I use a 3x magnifier for small details. In my case this is a common "Optivisor" hood sold in many hobby shops.

Well, naturally I used it to inspect my collection of Harbour Lights pieces, and I came away with three observations.

1. The HL pieces stand up to 3 power magnification inspection. They are really well done.

2. The sculpture, I think, can be appreciated much more fully by using magnification. The details on the latest pieces such as the subtle coloring on rocks, stonework, water, and so on, really come alive using this close-up device.

3. These things are quite fuzzy. By this I mean that there are literally hundreds of lint fibers adhering to the various parts of the piece, apparently the residue of a cloth used to apply color, wash, or stain. There are also dozens of bristles from a paint brush imbedded in the paint.

I don't mean this to be a critical comment, just an observation. And I'm not demeaning HL or their pieces or the way they're made. Rather, I'm wondering if all of the pieces are this way, and have other folks noticed this?

By using my surgical pointed tweezers (I can pick up a human hair off a sheet of glass with these things) I clean the sculptures by removing the lint and bristles.

This is kinda fun, in a sort of obsessive/compulsive way, because it causes you to focus on small areas of the piece as you search for lint and brush hairs. This means you take in and appreciate all of the wealth of detail in the piece, and you come away feeling that you've REALLY looked it over.

And for the "by the numbers" crowd, I counted 158 pieces of lint and brush hairs on my Roosevelt Island, and 423 on my Assateague Island.

I wonder if I have too much spare time? :-)

------------------
Bob Steinbrunn
Nautical Research Guild

Bob Steinbrunn