Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Ohio lights, etc! #61390 08/28/01 06:52 AM
chris g Offline OP
Wacko
OP Offline
Wacko
We returned from a marvelous vacation in Ohio just 2 weeks ago. Our primary objective for visiting Ohio was the Hall of Fame Game in Canton, Ohio (Rams VS Dolphins), but found many delightful LH in Ohio as well.

Our first lighthousing day was in the Cleveland area. Started with Vermillion. It was easy to find (always a plus) and was easy to view up close. The ladies at the Inland Seas Maritime Museum were most kind too. It seems that my son managed to find a wasp or two as he approached the museum and got stung. OK, I am a pharmacist, but I just don't carry anything with me for insect stings! They had some "sting kill" in their first aid kit and gladly gave us some. We walked all over the grounds and on the shore too. It is nice to see that Lake Erie was saved from the years of pollution to be healthy again.

Moving on down the road to Lorain- can't get to it without a boat, but you can get pretty close. We stopped at Lakeview Park and got some great pictures from some rocks on the shore. We also met two kind police officers who told me I could get closer if I went down the road to Lakeview Marina. They gave us some pretty good directions and we found it with little trouble. It was hard to find a place to park though- it was Sunday and everyone was out on the lake! We finally located a spot and then walked out the pier. Got some great pictures with a few sailboats passing by the light.

Next stop, Cleveland. We weren't able to get too close to this one either. However, we did have fun driving along the lakeshore and even found the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. No time to visit, but looks like a fun place to visit.