Boy Bob, you have asked a tough one. Hope someone else has the expertise to answer better than I have...

As an Architect I deal with quite a few structural engineers, but most are not trained in the structural capabilities of glazing. With an almost infinate list of glazing materials: sheet, float, plate, rough plate, tempered, annealed, heat strengthened, spandrel, laminated, wired, etc. as well as various grades of quality of each, most engineers stay away from structural responsibilites of glass. Many engineers would therefore in any special circumstance just specify required loading conditions in the construction specs for the glazing manufacturer to meet and take responsibility for. ie: "I'm not going to be responsible for that...that's your job".

Since this question is not a major construction project you will not receive any accurate calculations from a manufacturer or "generic" loading tables that are easily interpreted (unless your NASA or I.M. Pei, etc). I have never personally seen any standardized loading charts for horizontal plate glass. The quality of the glass and specific manufacturer has a large impact on an accurate calculation. If you talk to most glazing companies, they will probably just give you some general common sense approaches to your concerns, which would apply to the curios.

SUPPORTS:
In many curio loading conditions, the end supports will more than likely be the critical structural aspect of the shelf. Are they plastic? metal? 2 per end? 3 per end? a continous support (wood ribbon strip)? or just the small "pegs"?